Assembly Members of Juaben Municipal Assembly have finally elected a new Presiding Member (PM) after the first round of voting failed to elect a PM.

Mr. Adu Agyeman Caleb, Assembly Member for Kubease electoral area was elected as the New Presiding Member for Juaben Municipal Assembly. He was the only candidate who filled his nomination papers after the close of nomination at the inaugural meeting of the Assembly and at the end of the election, he was not able to secure two thirds of the Assembly Members hence the electoral commission postponed the date for second round.

There were twenty (20) Assembly Members, eight Government Appointees and one (1) Member of Parliament who voted and the new elected presiding Member polled 24 out of 29 votes representing 82.8%, 1 rejected ballot and 3 voting No at the end of the second round and he was then sworn in by Her Ladyship Mrs Rose Marie Afua – Asante, the Presiding Judge of Juaben Circuit Court.

During his acceptance speech, Mr. Adu Agyeman expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the Assembly Members for the confidence reposed in him and called for their unwavering support to collectively push the development agenda of the Assembly. He also called for a united front as an Assembly, devoid of partisan politics in the interest of the electorate whose mandate had been given to them.

Mr. Omane Aboagye, the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) commended the Members of the Assembly for ending the prolonged election of a PM which he said could have disrupted the developmental efforts of the Assembly.

The Municipal Coordinating Director, Dr. Stephen Lurimuah urged the Assembly Members to be punctual at Assembly meetings and contribute to Assembly deliberations. He said the Assembly would soon meet up and form Sub – Committees.

Present at the meeting included NPP Parliamentary Candidate, Mr Owusu Achaw Francis, Madam Eunice Ohenewaa Ansu, NDC Parliamentary Candidate for Juaben Constituency and all Heads of Department.

-Information Desk, Juaben Municipal Assembly

Scroll to Top