Mr. Kwabena Denkyira, the Director of Ministry of Local Government, Decentralization and Rural Development, representing His Excellency President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has officially inaugurated the Juaben Municipal Assembly in the Ashanti Region.

In a statement delivered on behalf of President Akufo-Addo, Mr. Kwabena Denkyira extended congratulations to all the elected assembly and unit committee members for their successful electoral mandates.

He admonished the assembly members to acquaint themselves with the local government act in order to support the assembly to achieve its Internally Generated Funds (IGF) target.

Mr. Denkyira underscored the significance of the assembly members in local governance and encouraged them to deepen their relationship with Assembly to foster more development.

In all, a total number of 27 assembly members were sworn in out of 19 were elected and 8 government appointees.

The Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) for Juaben in the Ashanti Region, Mr. Omane Aboagye, in his address urged the government appointees to bring their technical expertise to bare in the Assembly as a sure way of immortalizing their contribution and name in the history of this Assembly.

He further appreciated the efforts of the former Assembly members, particularly to those who lost their bid to return to the Assembly and implored on such ones to make their rich knowledge of Assembly proceedings available to the first timers.

Mr. Omane cautioned the Assembly members about high expectations of the citizens in terms of infrastructural development in their respective areas within the Municipality and called on each of them to give off their best in all spheres.

In attendance were, The Municipal Coordinating Director, Dr. Stephen Lurimuah, Circuit Court Judge, Her Honour Rosemarie Afua-Asante, Heads of Departments, Clergy, Traditional Authorities, Security Personnel, Constituency Executives of both NPP and NDC.

However, The Assembly Members failed to elect Presiding Member after the first round of voting. As such, the election for the Presiding Member was postponed.

Scroll to Top